What I am …

18 Feb

I got this idea from Chon and even though she posted it ages ago, it’s taken me this long to fill it out here.

1. I am watching: Downton Abbey

I inhaled Downton Abbey.  So many people told me I would love it and I resisted.  I thought it might be too highbrow for me.  Then I talked to more people and learned it was just pretty much a soap opera set in the past with British accents.  I can totally do soaps!  So I started watching and I was hooked after one episode. I am FINALLY all caught up although I inadvertently stumbled up on a major spoiler so I was not exactly shocked with the last episode.  It’s totally soapy goodness and I love it.

2. I am reading: A Week in Winter by Maeve Binchy

I was so upset when I learned that Maeve Binchy had passed away.  Then, I was utterly surprised when I got an email from Amazon with  my recommendations and saw that there was a new Maeve Binchy book out.  At first, I didn’t believe it was true.  I thought it must have been a book I already read or a short story.  When I saw it actually was a new book, I was delighted.  I downloaded it to my Kindle immediately and started reading right away.  I’m about halfway through and keep telling myself to take it slow so that I can make this last book of hers last but I can’t help but get lost in her world and want to gobble it up as quickly as possible.

3. I am pinning: Ideas for the nursery

 

Don’t panic, all.  Those ideas are not all going in one nursery.  I just kind of pin everything that I find cute and it’s a big hodgepodge of cute baby stuff in my Pinterest account.  I figure I have lots of time to actually decide on what our nursery will look like since we are not even officially on the books yet so decorating a nursery is still a ways away.  But it’s fun to imagine!

4. I am listening to: Podcasts, lots and lots of podcasts. (Even though one is on hiatus right now.)

This is my new favorite thing to do while I’m at work doing things like organizing a database or doing my expense reports or anything else that needs to be done but is boring and mindless.  Please give me more suggestions of podcasts you love!  That worked out so well when you all gave me books to read and tv shows to watch.  I can’t wait to start hacking away at my to watch and to read list!

5. I am eating: Leftover pizza.

And chugging Coke Zero by the canful.  I gave up soda for Lent.  That lasted about four minutes.  I can’t get into Lent and the religious traditions this year.  I just can’t do it so I’m not stressing myself out about it.  I’ve had a lot going on lately and don’t need to make myself feel guilty about something additional.

6. Different blogs I am loving: 

Pinterest, you are drunk

Daily Dishonesty

I Heart Organizing

16 Responses to “What I am …”

  1. Low Fat Lady February 18, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    I love podcasts too. I have trouble focusing on work and them at the same time though. Gotta practice more.

    • Anna February 18, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

      Yeah, that’s why I can only listen if I’m doing something mindless. If I have to focus, I can’t be listening to anything else!

  2. Alicia February 18, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

    Love this post! I’ve been recommended Downton Abbey over and over and, after my husband and I are through with Skins, it’s next on our list. And I love those little wooden elephants … awwwww…..

    Looking forward to perusing I Heart Organizing!

    • Anna February 18, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

      You are going to want to reorganize your entire house when you reading through I Heart Organizing. People are so creative and make their homes look so nice. It makes me want to change my entire house!

  3. SM February 18, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

    I love Maeve Binchy! One of my all time favorite authors!

    • Anna February 18, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

      Me too. I’m sad to think that there won’t be any more books from her.

  4. chon February 18, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

    nice list!! haven’t got into Downton Abbey yet. I wonder if that is because English drama’s have been around forever with us. English aren’t really a novelty since for the majority of us we have an English relative thrown in somewhere (AKA my mum and her whole family!!)

    • Anna February 18, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

      Yeah, it’s probably less novel to you. I feel like you can’t escape it here lately. Everyone I know is watching/talking about it. I had to finally give in to what the fuss was about. 🙂

  5. Ladyblogalot February 18, 2013 at 11:59 pm #

    Totally can’t listen to anything while I work because I am a journalist and the last time I had the radio on while writing an article it had bits in it that were less fact and more just words from the song that was on…

    • Anna February 19, 2013 at 11:59 am #

      I hate when I do that!

  6. Detour February 19, 2013 at 11:17 am #

    I love your nursery ideas, especially the alphabet one. I joined Pinterest yesterday and went a little crazy pinning nursery ideas, especially forest friends decals.

    • Anna February 19, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

      Thanks! I’m addicted to Pinterest. It’s so easy to get lost there for hours.

  7. Erin W February 19, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

    I love How Did This Get Made for podcasts. They watch an insane failure of a movie then they talk about it. It makes me laugh. (Warning: can get a teensy bit profane, at least compared to those demure NPR podcasts.)

    I also listen to PCHH and Firewall & Iceberg. I’m driving out to my parents’ on Saturday, and I thought, “Ooooh, I can listen to the Oscars pre-show PCHH on the way!”

    They all pale next to the poor, defunct Extra Hot Great, however. Those were the days…

    • Anna February 19, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

      Well I’m a lot but profane so I can take it. 🙂

      Thanks for the recommendation!

  8. Amber February 20, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

    I so love Downton Abbey. And Maeve Binchy. She writes some awesome books.

    • Anna February 20, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

      She does. And I just finished the last one. It was really good but ended too soon!

What do you think?

