“What a stupid world”

25 Feb

My husband told me the other day that he had never read the Calvin and Hobbes comic strip. I did not understand that.  How was it possible not to have read it?  So then I started looking for examples of how awesome it is and I stumbled up on something I had forgotten.

This series of strips.

The gist of the story is that Calvin and Hobbes find a little raccoon while they are exploring and the raccoon is hurt.  Calvin runs to get his mom and the next morning Calvin learns that the raccoon has died.  When Calvin learns about this, he bursts into tears.  His dad tries to comfort him by saying they did what they could and he died in a warm place.  And Calvin says something so perfect: “I’m crying because out there he’s gone, but he’s not gone inside me.”

Seriously? How does a comic strip know how I feel about losing my baby?  I guess it’s not just losing a baby.  It’s probably the loss of anyone you love.  The outside world ticks on by and my baby’s gone and barely existed to them.  But I remember him every day and think of him constantly.  He would be a little over a year old.  Toddling around the house.  Chasing the dog.  He runs around my head all the time.

Then the part that started the waterworks.  Calvin and Hobbes go to visit where the little raccoon is buried and he says: “I didn’t even know he existed a few days ago and now he’s gone forever. It’s like I found him for no reason. I had to say goodbye as soon as I said hello. Still, in a sad, awful, terrible way, I’m happy I met him.  What a stupid world.”

What a stupid world indeed, Calvin.

 ETA: I just realized that I had a link there to a Nine Inch Nails story.  Talk about pasting the wrong link!

14 Responses to ““What a stupid world””

  1. Ladyblogalot February 25, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    Oh, that is touching. it kind of makes me wonder if the strip author experienced losses of their own.

    • Anna February 25, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

      Probably. I mean how else do you learn the perfect thing to say unless you live it?

  2. Wannabemom February 25, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

    “it’s like I found him for no good reason. I had to say goodbye as soon as I said hello”. I asked myself that so many times… Thanks for sharing this. I like when comics have meaning.

    • Anna February 26, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

      How can you get so much truth into one little comic strip?

  3. Brooke February 25, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

    I love Calvin & Hobbes and I’d never seen this one. It gets you in the gut, but in a good way. xoxo

    • Anna February 26, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

      Definitely agree. xo

  4. Erin February 25, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

    How absolutely perfect. The author must have experienced a loss to be able to put into words how painful loss can be….even when the life lost is one so newly known. So glad you found and shared this.
    Also I’m with you…how can your husband have never read Calvin and Hobbes?

    • Anna February 26, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

      I don’t know. Did he live under a rock before he met me?

  5. Gail K February 26, 2013 at 10:45 am #

    I read a number of Comic Strips daily (onilne) and I love how they can mirror real life so easily in just a few drawings and boxes. This one certainly hit the nail on the head!

    • Anna February 26, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      Agreed. I used to read quite a few but haven’t in some time. I do miss Calvin and Hobbes though.

  6. Dspence February 26, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    I love Calvin and Hobbes. Especially for how the strip so often found the perfect, childlike way to say the hard, adult things.

    • Anna February 26, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      Definitely agree. He was very good at finding the right words.

  7. chon February 26, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    ok so I haven’t read a lot of Calvin and Hobbes but I did know about them 😉

    And sometimes it is a bloody stupid arse world.

    • Anna February 27, 2013 at 6:21 pm #

      He knew about them too but definitely hadn’t really read them. And agreed. Stupid world but it’s filled with pretty great people. xo

What do you think?

