Hello there

2 Apr

Hello, all seven to ten of you that check my blog in vain only to realize that I haven’t posted a damn thing.  And hello to you too, spam bot that told me despite not having read “one single post on my web-log” that I am a “large lad.”

I read this post on LifeHacker that says if you’re always busy, you might just be procrastinating.  It talks about how procrastination doesn’t have to just be putting things off.  It can be dealing with the “latest and loudest” or going for the “quick wins” instead of what is important.  That was revelatory to me.  I totally do this.  I feel like I’m getting a lot of stuff done, but none of it is important so I never feel like I’m getting anything done.

True, there is something to be said for doing the small tasks and getting yourself started on your to do list.  But if I’m constantly only doing the small things, a whole lot of big things start to get missed and that’s an issue.  It’s how I end up with 926 blogs in my Google Reader.  I clear out the junk that I don’t want to read, that’s easy.  But I skip the part of actually sitting down reading the blogs I do want to read and commenting on them.  I skip the part where I post on here because that’s the hard time consuming stuff and the scanning of gossip blogs is easy.

I don’t know what I’m saying here.  Time number 4, 562 where I resolve to be more organized, do the things that matter and stop wasting my time?  Probably.  Here we go again.

 

6 Responses to “Hello there”

  1. FCblacksheep April 2, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    Ha! I’m going to read that article. I’m sure it’ll apply to my life. I hate that I’m so disorganized but I just can’t change it so I’m getting to the point where I’m starting to embrace it. Life is more exciting when you’re flying by the seat of your pants, scrambling at the last second, right? And for the record, I like you just the way you are, 926 blogs on your blogroll and all.

    • Anna April 3, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

      Yes, I agree. Life is so much more exciting when you’re living in chaos. 😉 I wish I could embrace it. It just makes me feel crazy guilty instead.

  2. chon April 3, 2013 at 4:03 am #

    Between you and Toni disappearing on me I shall quote the line I am not amused x

    • Anna April 3, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

      Haha! I promise I will make more of an effort. I can’t speak for Toni, though.

  3. ladyblogalot April 3, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

    You’re forgiven. Again. Clear everything in your reader and start again? Oooh maybe not, then that would just set a precedent of clearing your reader!

    • Anna April 3, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

      It’s pretty much what I did. Just skimmed everything and got the gist of who’s pregnant and who’s not and am hoping that I can get back to normal now.

What do you think?

