Hallmark fails me again

10 Apr

I’ve ranted about card store failings before.  I’m too lazy to link to it but trust me on this.  I have.  Sympathy cards for miscarriages and losses of babies, maybe?

Today, I stopped at Hallmark to buy cards for the myriad of events coming up in April and May: a baptism, a wedding, a wedding anniversary, two birthdays, and Mother’s Day.  Thank God for that Gold Crown card, huh?

I stood in front of the massive Mother’s Day display.  Two sides of two long card racks.  I’m pretty sure it was as big as ALL the birthday cards.  That includes birthday cards for him, for her, for anyone, the funny ones, etc.  It was huge.  I’ve never seen such a big display before.

In this massive display of cards, there were cards for everyone.  Your mom, your mother, your mama.  Whatever you call her.  You grandmother, your stepmom, your godmother, your aunt, your daughter, your sister, your in-laws.  There was a section labeled “Every Mom.”  There are cards for people who are “Like a Mother.”  There are cards for birth mothers (which is awesome and I will need to remember this for when we are chosen).  There are cards for pet moms.  There are cards to give someone if they just lost their mother.

There are no cards for mothers without children.  The closest things were cards that said “You Deserve This Day.”  I’m not quite sure who gets those.  They seemed geared towards women who are amazing women that deserve to be recognized but aren’t mothers? I’m not sure.

So, essentially, it is more likely that I will receive a Mother’s Day card from my dog or my cat than from someone who would like to acknowledge that fact that I am a mother without a child.  I realize that no one knows what to do when you lose a baby.  Hell, I lost him and even I don’t know what to do.  So, I don’t know what to tell people because I don’t have the right answer.  But making us feel ignored is definitely not the right answer.

7 Responses to “Hallmark fails me again”

  1. Alicia April 11, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

    I can relate – Mothers Day as an ALI survivor is so painful. You are recognized as a mother here, as part of this community and in our hearts … I know this probably means very little.

    I’m sure you’ve seen this site before, but in the event that you haven’t, here you go:

    http://carlymarieprojectheal.com/2012/05/international-bereaved-mothers-day.html

    Thinking of you.

    • Anna April 11, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

      Thank you. I have seen that site before but thanks for sharing.

  2. FCblacksheep April 11, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

    No ignoring it is not the right answer. You are a mother. You had a son. You will be a mother to another child. For all you’be been through, at the very least you deserve a card.

    • Anna April 11, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

      Thanks. xo

  3. Erin W April 11, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

    Hallmark may be behind the times, but google “infertility + greeting card” and you’ll get a bunch of hits. People on cafepress and etsy are filling this gap in the market.

    Here’s a good one: http://www.cafepress.com/+infertility_greeting_card,170353201

    • Anna April 11, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

      That is awesome!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I was wrong | Supposed to be my symphony - May 10, 2013

    […] did and I forgot?) She’s definitely not web savvy enough to have found this blog, read my rant about cards and recognize that it was me writing […]

What do you think?

