Facebook and horomes

2 May

I am very hormonal.  Like cry at the end of Castle because they were reminiscing about all their kisses hormonal.  There is no reason to cry over something like that.

Here is a list of ways Facebook has made me cry recently:

  1. The person that posted her 22 week pregnancy photo that I inspected for signs of cankles posted the bedding she just bought for her baby.  At that point, I had not bought one thing for my baby.  The only shirt my son will ever own was purchased two weeks after he died.  It was too perfect not to buy him even though he was gone. 
  2. A friend’s sister posted pictures of her family at Easter.  The album was filled with pictures of all the kids.  They all look so much like their parents.  It is obvious from the first second whose kids these are.  I know I’ve talked about this before and I know I’ll get over it but right now it kills to know that I won’t have a child that looks like me.
  3. Baby birds that had hatched.
  4. This video which makes me so grateful that adoption exists. 

Updated to add:

And then reading the comments on this video made cry number five.  I had no idea so many people were anti-adoption.

17 Responses to “Facebook and horomes”

  1. SM May 2, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

    I hate all the anti-adoption people out there. Seriously?! Giving children a loving home is a bad thing?! I get teary-eyed any time I see anything about adoption. I sobbed through that video.

    • Anna May 2, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

      Yeah, I don’t get it. They act as if people are people forced into making adoption plans for their children. Sure, it’s not a perfect world and I’m sure that happens sometimes. But you can’t tell me that every woman on earth that gets pregnant WANTS to parent. Some really just don’t for any number of reasons and that’s why adoption gives them an option. It’s not something they are forced into. And they gave a time period in which to CHANGE THEIR MIND if they feel it wasn’t the right choice. Ugh, I’m getting all riled. But I loved that video.

      • cinderelly May 3, 2013 at 2:29 pm #

        I posted a status on facebook about why more pregnant women weren’t encouraged to look into adoption and I got ripped to shreds. You would have thought I was promoting just taking away children to give to couples and the mother would have no say. Adoption is different now. The comments I got made me feel stabby and I ended up deleting the entire thing.

        • Anna May 6, 2013 at 9:46 am #

          I just don’t get that. I mean, especially for domestic adoption. Most places we were looking at only allowed (or strongly encouraged) open adoptions where the birthmothers have a relationship with their child if they wish to have one.

  2. Ladyblogalot May 2, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

    I think the percentage of people who are anti-adoption is precisely the same as the percentage of people who are stupid.

    • Brooke May 2, 2013 at 10:05 pm #

      I completely understand that there are lamentable situations in which a woman would feel that giving her baby up for adoption is her only option. And that’s sad. But sweeping claims about being anti-adoption are ridiculous. That video is lovely.

      I understand grieving the loss of a biological child who is a “minime.” I really get that, and I hate it for you. And I know it’s not the same, but you might be surprised at the way your future child comes to resemble you, though. Mannerisms and ways of speaking sometimes make people look even more alike than genetics.

      • Anna May 6, 2013 at 9:49 am #

        I know – that story you told me about your friend gives me a lot of hope that my kids will “look” like me.

    • eighteenyears May 3, 2013 at 6:23 am #

      Exactically what I was thinking.

      • eighteenyears May 3, 2013 at 6:24 am #

        I meant about what ladyblogalot said…

        • Anna May 6, 2013 at 9:49 am #

          I hope that one day people are more open minded about things they don’t understand.

    • Anna May 6, 2013 at 9:48 am #

      I just think a lot of those people don’t have any of the facts and yet they feel the need to have an opinion on everything.

  3. Paula May 5, 2013 at 10:26 am #

    I think Ladyblogalot has summed up my opinion pretty well with her comment…

    • Anna May 7, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

      I think people fear what they don’t know so they judge it.

  4. Kathy May 6, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

    My best friend adopted a little girl. The first time I saw her I was bowled over by the fact she looked so much like my friends dad ! It was amazing ! Most people who are anti-adoption just don’t know anything about it…ignore them.

    • Anna May 7, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

      I hope that there are some similarities between us and our baby. And if there aren’t, we’ll just have to to ignore people’s stares. Or educate them.

  5. Alicia May 7, 2013 at 11:48 am #

    Oh my god, this little video made me cry. It is so true. I feel so blessed that adoption exists too. Thank you for sharing this.

    • Anna May 7, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

      Isn’t it wonderful? Someone who is adopting posted it on FB and I loved it.

What do you think?

