You ruined everything

16 May

Jonathan Coulton is a geek singer-songwriter that my husband really likes.  I started listening to some of his songs because my husband had them on and they are pretty funny and catchy.  My husband burned me a CD so I could listen to songs in my car and there is one that I always always skip.  

I was fine,
I pulled my self together
Just in time,
To throw my self away
Once my perfect world was gone I knew,
You ruined everything in the nicest way

You should know,
How great things were before you
Even so,
They’re better still today
Now I can’t think who I was before
You ruined everything in the nicest way

It’s about having your first child.   This song always makes me cry.  It didn’t used to. I could listen and tune it out for the most part.   We saw him in concert about a year ago.  He sang this song and as soon as it started, I burst into tears.  I was having a great time and the tears came out of nowhere.  I buried my face in my husband’s chest and sobbed.  Thank God it was loud and dark and so no one really noticed.  If they did, they were kind enough to pretend that sobbing in the middle of a show where everyone was laughing and singing along was perfectly normal.

That CD is in my husband’s car and so I haven’t heard it in a while so I haven’t had to quickly push the skip button while driving.  Today though, the song popped into my head.   Out of nowhere, I started humming it.  And while it didn’t make me sob like it once did, it did hurt my heart.  

I can’t wait for life to be ruined. 

2 Responses to “You ruined everything”

  1. Feit Can Write May 16, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    Yep. We no longer (or very rarely) sleep in, take long weekends, eat on the couch while watching trashy TV, waste a day playing Mario, stay up way to late playing “drunk pool”, are spontaneously romantic prior to 9 pm, go out to eat whenever we want, or have any illusions that the carpet in our dining room will ever be stain free again.

    But we wouldn’t have it any other way.

    • Anna May 16, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

      Sounds great. 🙂

What do you think?

