Stop labeling

20 May

I can be changed by what happens to me. I refuse to be reduced by it. – Maya Angelou

At my infertility support group, someone labeled herself as defective because she’s comes to the end of the road of her fertility treatments and has only losses to show for it and no live baby.  It broke my heart to hear her say that about herself because I don’t see her as defective.  And yet, I see myself as defective.  It took 8 IUIs to get me pregnant.  Then once I did get pregnant, my body revolted.  It went full on crazy.  My baby was healthy and fine but my body gave up.

It’s funny how we see ourselves.  I doubt that this woman would ever call me defective.  Yet, she has no problem labeling herself. I would never ever describe someone else as defective, especially not based on their ability to carry a child. When it comes to me, though, I can very easily label myself a failure.

It’s so easy to judge yourself.  It’s so easy to blame yourself.  It’s extremely difficult to rise above.  But we have to try.

2 Responses to “Stop labeling”

  1. Robin May 28, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    I think that as women we expect ourselves to be able to carry children and deliver healthy babies and I bet a lot of women actually feel defective. It’s tragic, and we definitely have to rise above.

    • Anna May 28, 2013 at 5:50 pm #

      It is tragic. It’s so difficult to see people hurting like that.

What do you think?

