Progress

9 Jul

After discovering the typo, I had a panic attack.  It was 4th of July weekend and there was no way that any progress was going to be made until Monday.  I felt awful.  This was MY fault.  I approved that proof.  I can rant and rave about things that are out of my control but this was fully in my control.

I tried to read the profile on Friday and found another typo which sent me into a spiral.  We decided to wait until Saturday or Sunday to read through the book again because knew that nothing would get done until Monday anyway.  The best laid plans…

Somehow the rearrangement of our family room took over our entire weekend.  We have always hated the way our family is arranged so we decided to rearrange the furniture.  It’s not ideal now (the couch is too big in the spot we moved it to  so we’re in the market for a smaller one) but it’s a better set up.  No one has to contort their neck to watch tv anymore which I thought was a vast improvement.  I was wrong. Once moved, the couch was too far away from the tv and it was too much eye strain (or so I was told).  We needed a larger tv!

Luckily, the one my husband wanted was on sale about 45 minutes away from our home.  Unfortunately, we drive Corollas so there was no way the tv was going to fit in either of our cars.  We had to rent a cargo van from UHaul, drive to the store, buy the tv, drive home, drop the tv off, and then drop the UHaul off.  Once said tv was purchased, we realized that we would need a bigger tv stand. Off to Ikea!  It was one hour til closing so we zipped through and found something we liked.  When we got down to the warehouse, one piece was missing.  We were told it would be in stock the next day.

So the next day, we drove back to Ikea and picked up the missing part and a few other things we didn’t have time to grab the day.  We ran some other errands and by the time we got home it was around 4:00 or 4:30.  The tv stand that the guy at Ikea swore we could put together in five minutes took considerably longer than that to assemble.  Then we had to unattach ALL our electronics so that we could thread them through the freshly drilled holes in the tv stand and reattach them all.  Then we realized that our surround sound box thingy (that’s the technical term) was too big for the stand.  Luckily we bought a stand with doors on the two ends but an open middle piece so it’s okay that it’s hanging out a bit.  The system is pretty old and on the fritz anyway so let’s just add that to the list of things we need to purchase now.  By the time we were done, we were exhausted and ready to go to bed and it was Sunday night.  Oops.

So basically deciding on a whim that we were going to rearrange our family room turned into a weekend where time disappeared into a black hole and necessitated the purchase of a new tv and stand and is prompting the purchase of a new couch and surround sound system.  I’m still not sure how that happened.

Yesterday, we managed to give it another read through and found two more typos.  A friend read through it as well. She commented that it was much harder to proofread than a document since there were so many colors and fonts.  It’s eye-catching overall but distracting if you’re trying to proofread and read every single word carefully. That made me feel better about missing the things that I missed.   The typos have been corrected and now we’re waiting to hear how much the printing will cost and how much the shipping will be (expedited if it’s not too expensive).  So we’re making progress. Took a detour into tv land, but making progress.

 

13 Responses to “Progress”

  1. chon July 9, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    I agree with your friend, it is so hard to check for typos especially as well when you are so close to the subject. Side note. I could have sworn two weeks ago I sent an email with action items, minutes and a business report. I actually recall the email I wrote but no one got it. Sometimes strange things happen 😉

    Bloody Ikea. Ryan is a builder and f me it takes him as long to put an ikea book case together as it does to build a house. Sort of. Nearly but you get my drift.

    Anna, you realise now things are in motion. Your dream to becoming a mother (again) has suddenly become a little bit closer than it was a month ago. Typo or not, shit is happening my friend xx

    • Anna July 10, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

      I know. I just wish it was happening a little faster. 🙂

  2. SM July 9, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    Don’t let that typo get you down, friend! You’re moving right along and that’s awesome!

    • Anna July 10, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

      Thanks! I’m trying to think positively!

  3. Brooke July 9, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

    When I defended my dissertation, a sweet old professor who was on my committee brought me an index card. With a list of page numbers and the typos contained on each page. I was mortified, but also really grateful. And I had proofread that thing countless times! It happens to everyone. I’m glad you’re moving forward. And I totally get the one small change leading to a zillion things you need to buy for your home… we moved two months ago and I still feel like we’re bleeding money to make this place feel like home!

    • Anna July 10, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

      Your home posts aren’t helping me either. After talking about your lack of kitchen backsplash, now all I can focus on is my lack of the same. Plus we were in a restaurant with white subway tile and my husband agreed that he liked the look of it so now I just want to do it!!

  4. Robin July 10, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    Proofreading is the worst. I actually send out all wedding invitations to be proofread because I cannot find my own errors for the life of me. It’s so damn frustrating. I’m glad that its getting fixed and that you’re moving forward!

    • Anna July 10, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

      I know. I think we were just so close to it that we knew what we wanted to write and so that is what we read. Frustrating to discover that the words I had read repeatedly were not actually what was on the page.

  5. Alicia July 10, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

    Glad to hear that you’re on your way to handing in the profile! Exciting!

    • Anna July 10, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

      Thanks! I’m still waiting to hear back on shipping costs. Hopefully soon.

  6. Amber July 18, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

    It’s okay, typos happen.

    Ikea is the best. I haven’t been to one in years.

    • Anna July 18, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

      Ikea is my favorite. I can wander around there buying random stuff for 3 dollars all day long.

  7. Erin July 25, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

    I’ve had those weekends… Start a simple project and suddenly you are out thousands of dollars… But I hope you enjoy the new room!!!

What do you think?

